curriculum links enrichment.gif (15648 bytes)

Fifth Grade
Purpose
There are times during the day when students might benefit from enhancing or reinforcing curriculum skills independently.  Students may use these sites in lieu of classroom work already mastered. Sites include resources, tools, practice games and research links.

*indicates district objective

ALERT! These links will take you to sites outside the Nieman EL site. Nieman Enhanced Learning Center and the Shawnee Mission School District are not responsible for material linked to outside websites.   Students need to understand that conflicting information may be found on the Internet.  Teachers should visit all sites to make sure that they are appropriate for grade level learners in content and readability.

TEACHERS: If you find sites that you would like added to or removed from these lists just email  nibosch@smsd.org

Reading and Language Arts Vocabulary

Writing

Online Magazines

Online Books, Stories and Poems

Science and Health

Social Studies

Mathematics
Math "Games"

Author's Sites

Science Extras Museums Fun Sites
Manipulatives

Reading and Language Arts
*Expand Vocabulary

Level 1 Vocabulary  http://www.vocabulary.com/VUlevel1S137.html
Read the instructions carefully and fill in the correct words.  There are several different activities you can do.  Print and turn into your teacher after you finish an activity.

Wizard Words http://www.vocabulary.com/VUwizard.html
Holiday Traditions http://www.vocabulary.com/AOLholidaytrad16.html
School Vocabulary Calendar http://www.vocabulary.com/schoolcalendar.html

Language Arts Activities http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=L2_LanguageArts   After you choose the activity you want to do you will be asked to register.   Click on the button that says "Maybe Later". Choose an activity that is at you grade level or higher. Try Punctuation Paintball, Rocket Word Tag, Supernova Sentence Structures, and Alien Word Mine.

Grammar Gorillas http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/
Paint by Idioms http://www.funbrain.com/idioms/index.html
The Plural Girls http://www.funbrain.com/plurals/index.html
Word Confusion http://www.funbrain.com/whichword/index.html
Rooting Out Words http://www.funbrain.com/roots/index.html

Online Magazines
*Read fluently at grade level
*Read self-selected materials
*Apply reading strategies

National Geographic Explorer http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngexplorer/index.html
Time Magazine for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
Sports Illustrated for Kids http://www.sikids.com/
Consumer Reports 4 Kids http://www.zillions.org/
Scholastic News http://teacher.scholastic.com/scholasticnews/
Science News for Kids http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/

Online Books, Stories and Poems
Winged Sandals http://www.wingedsandals.com/
Myth Web http://www.mythweb.com/
The Adventures of Banph http://www.banph.com/
Bunyips: Aboriginal Stories from Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/exhibitions/bunyips/ 
Fletcher Hill Stories http://fletcherhill.com/
Giggle Poetry http://www.gigglepoetry.com/
Brothers Grimm http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/
Kid's Mysteries http://kids.mysterynet.com/
Peetnik Mysteries http://151.138.2.30/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/welcome.html
Famous People Read Stories http://www.bookpals.net/storyline/

Author's Sites
Judy Blume's Home Base http://www.judyblume.com/
Brian Jacques Official Site http://www.redwall.org/
Harry Potter Homepage http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp
Roald Dahl http://www.roalddahl.com/
Lemony Snicket http://www.lemonysnicket.com/ 

Writing
*Apply the writing process
*Use different modes of writing for different purposes
*Use characteristics of all six traits writing

Paragraph Punch http://www.paragraphpunch.com/cgi-bin/pp1.pl?step=1   Use this interactive application to practice writing a good paragraph.
Essay Punch http://www.essaypunch.com/cgi-bin/ep1.pl?step=1 Use this interactive application to practice writing a good essay. 
Creative Writing for Kids http://www.creativewriting4kids.com/
Creative Writing Prompts http://www.creativewritingprompts.com
Guide to Grammar and Writing 
Writing the Journey http://www.writingthejourney.com/
Stationary for Your Writing http://www.primarygames.com/print_zone/stationery/older/bigstationery.htm

*Use and interpret graphs, charts and tables

Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/
Using Data and Statistics http://www.mathleague.com/help/data/data.htm
Data Picking http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/mathsfile/shockwave/games/datapick.html


Science and Health

*Design and conduct a controlled experiment to test a hypothesis

Science Fair Central http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
SciFair.Org http://www.scifair.org/

All Science Fair Projects http://www.all-science-fair-projects.com/

*Recognize that minerals are made up of crystals

The Mineral and Gemstone Kingdom http://www.minerals.net/
Minerals, Crystals and Gems http://www.smithsonianeducation.org/educators/lesson_plans/minerals/minerals_crystals.html
Mineral Matters http://www.sdnhm.org/kids/minerals/
Rocks for Kids http://www.rocksforkids.com/RFK/TableofContents.html

*Investigate friction and its effect on the motion of objects

Friction Facts http://www.bizzikid.co.uk/S3/questions.lasso?keyvalue=768
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ce6/sci/A0819704.html
Fear of Physics http://www.fearofphysics.com/Friction/frintro.html

*Evaluate which simple machine is most appropriate to accomplish a task

Simple Machines http://www.mikids.com/Smachines.htm
EdHeads http://www.edheads.org/activities/simple-machines/index.htm
Inventor's Toolbox http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/InventorsToolbox.html
What is a Simple Machine? http://www.sirinet.net/~jgjohnso/simple.html
Pictures of over 70 simple machines http://staff.harrisonburg.k12.va.us/~mwampole/1-resources/simple-machines/index.html

*Investigate electrical circuits

The Blobz Guide to Electrical Circuits http://www.andythelwell.com/blobz/
Edison's Miracle of Light
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/edison/index.html
Learn About Electricity http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/edison/index.html
Understanding Electricity http://whyfiles.larc.nasa.gov/text/kids/Problem_Board/problems/electricity/electricity2.html

*Identify properties of matter

The Particle Adventure http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Matter http://www.chem4kids.com/files/matter_intro.html

*Describe the motion of objects

Newton's Laws of Motion http://www.glenbrook.k12.il.us/gbssci/phys/Class/newtlaws/newtltoc.html
Succeed in Physical Science http://www.school-for-champions.com/science.htm#Matter
Design a Roller Coaster http://www.learner.org/exhibits/parkphysics/

*Understand ways that heat energy can be transferred

Thermodynamics for kids http://www.factmonster.com/ce6/sci/A0848442.html
Thermochemistry http://www.chem4kids.com/files/react_thermo.html
Heat Transfer http://www.cartage.org.lb/en/kids/science/Physics/Thermodynamics/Heat%20transfer.htm

*Understand the structures and functions of cells

Cells Alive! http://www.learner.org/exhibits/parkphysics/
The Virtual Cell Tour http://www.ibiblio.org/virtualcell/index.htm
The Gene Scene http://ology.amnh.org/genetics/

*Describe the interactions of the muscular, skeletal and nervous systems

My Body http://kidshealth.org/kid/body/mybody.html
Human Body and Mind
http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/
A Look Inside the Human Body http://www4.tpgi.com.au/users/amcgann/body/
Virtual Body http://www.medtropolis.com/VBody.asp
Inner Body http://www.innerbody.com/
Atlas of the Human Body http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/7140.html

*Design a nutrition plan

Dole 5 A Day http://www.dole5aday.com/Kids/K_Home.jsp (you need Macromedia Flash to view this site)
Nutrition Explorations http://www.nutritionexplorations.org/kids/main.asp
Kids and Nutrition
http://www.ext.nodak.edu/food/kidsnutrition/

*Describe the body's immune system and the effect of HIV/AIDS

How Your Immune System Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/immune-system.htm
The Immune System  http://www4.tpgi.com.au/users/amcgann/body/immune_system.htm
HIV/AIDS http://kidshealth.org/kid/health_problems/infection/hiv.html

Science Extras
Science Mysteries http://www.accessexcellence.org/AE/mspot/
The NASA Science Files http://scifiles.larc.nasa.gov/treehouse.html
NASA Space Place http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/en/kids/
Africam http://www.africam.com/
Cloud Clues  http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/clouds/cloudsread.html
National Geographic for Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
Try Science http://www.tryscience.org/
Sim Science http://simscience.org

Junglewalk http://junglewalk.com
Oology http://www.ology.amnh.org/
Particle Adventure http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Acme Virtual Detective Agency http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Experiments http://www.hunkinsexperiments.com/
Cool Science for Curious Kids http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/index.html
Sports Science
http://www.exploratorium.edu/sports/index.html
Kineticity http://www.kineticcity.com/
The Atoms Family http://www.miamisci.org/af/sln/


Social Studies
* Use the terminology and give examples of the social sciences: geography, economics, sociology, anthropology, history, psychology, political science, and technology

*Create timelines, which present major historical events in the history of the United States from 1400 to present, in chronological order.

Timeline Maker http://www.readwritethink.org/student_mat/student_material.asp?id=7
How to Make a Timeline http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/articles/howtomakeatimeline1.htm
American History Timeline http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/nmah/timeline.htm
American History Timeline II http://www.animatedatlas.com/timeline.html
US History Timeline http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0902416.html

*Participate in the study of American history

Librarian's Guide to the Internet http://lii.org/search/file/history_united_states
KidsClick http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/KidsClick!/midamer.html
CyberSleuths http://cybersleuth-kids.com/sleuth/History/US_History/
Civil War http://adifferentplace.org/civilwar.htm
Revolutionary War http://adifferentplace.org/americanrevolution.htm

*Understand the 5 themes of Geography: location, place, human-environmental interaction, movement and regions

5 Themes of Geography http://www.funsocialstudies.learninghaven.com/articles/fivethemes.htm

World Atlas "The List" http://www.graphicmaps.com/geoquiz/thelist.htm
GeoBee Challenge http://www.nationalgeographic.com/geobee/
GeoCommander http://www.geobeecentral.com/geocommander/index.php

*Identify and research the noble and brave qualities of an American hero

My Hero Project http://myhero.com/myhero/
Famous Kansans http://www.kshs.org/kids/famous.htm
American Heroes list http://www.kent.k12.wa.us//KSD/DE/research/heroes.html
Real African American Heroes http://raahistory.com/
Biography.com Search http://www.biography.com/search/index.jsp
Time 100 http://www.time.com/time/time100/

*Explain the purpose and structure of government

Ben's Guide to US Government http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
First Gov for Kids http://www.kids.gov/
US Treasury for Kids http://www.treas.gov/kids/
White House for Kids http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids/


Mathematics

*Apply a variety of problem solving strategies; make a table, work backwards, extend a pattern, guess and check, draw a picture or diagram
 
Grade 5 Problems http://www.stfx.ca/special/mathproblems/grade5.html
Aunty Math's Challenges  http://www.dupagechildrensmuseum.org/aunty/index.html

*Show the process of addition and subtraction of fractions with like and unlike denominators

Fractions http://www.learningwave.com/lwonline/workingfront/fractionfront.html
Fractions from AAA Math http://www.aaamath.com/B/fra.htm

*Divide using divisors of two digits

Dividing four digits by two digits http://www.aaamath.com/B/div55_x2.htm
Math Baseball http://www.funbrain.com/math/

*Add and subtract fractions and mixed numbers with like denominators

Fraction Workshop http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=FractionsWorkbench
Fractions from AAA Math http://www.aaamath.com/B/fra.htm

*Write equivalent fractions

Fresh Baked Fractions http://www.funbrain.com/fract/
Fraction Frenzy http://www.learningplanet.com/sam/ff/index.asp
Virtual Manipulatives http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_105_g_2_t_1.html
Equivalent Fractions http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/tool_detail.aspx?id=80

*Add, subtract and multiply decimals

Adding and Subtracting Decimals http://www.math.com/school/subject1/lessons/S1U1L4GL.html
Multiplying thousandths by tenths http://www.aaamath.com/B/dec54ax2.htm (explanation and practice)
Multiplying thousandths by hundredths http://www.aaamath.com/B/dec54ax2.htm (explanation and practice)

*Recognize the attributes of polygons

Shape Sorter Tool http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/shapesorter/shapesorter.asp
Investigating the Concept of Triangle and Properties of Polygons: Creating Polygons http://standards.nctm.org/document/eexamples/chap4/4.2/part2.htm
Geometry of the Ancients
http://www.learningwave.com/engage/geometry/geometry.html
Perimeter and Areas of Polygons http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/toc_vol1.html

*Distinguish between right, acute, and obtuse angles

Interior Angles http://www.coolmath4kids.com/interior.html
I
dentifying types of Triangles by Angles http://www.aaamath.com/B/g513_tx1.htm

*Know and apply basic measurements and their equivalencies for length, mass, and capacity in standard and metric measurement systems

Megaconverter http://megaconverter.com/mega2/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ipka/A0876863.html
Measurement Quizzes http://www.mathwizz.com/practical/index.htm
Measurement Games http://www.gamequarium.com/measurement.html
Measurement http://www.aaamath.com/mea.html

*Apply data-analysis and graphing to problem solving situations

Looking for Top Quark http://education.jlab.org/topquarkgame/select4.html
Lunar Adventure http://www.learningplanet.com/act/lunar/index.asp

Create a Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/

Manipulatives
Pattern Blocks http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_169_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities
Tangrams http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_112_g_2_t_1.html?open=activities
Pentominos http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_114_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities

Mastermind http://thinks.com/java/mastermind/mastermind.htm

Online Paint by Number
Griddlers http://www.griddlers.net/ 
Pic-A-Pix
http://www.conceptispuzzles.com/index.htm
Japanese Crosswords http://puzzle.geoweb.ge/online.htm
Paint by Number http://www.blindchicken.com/~ali/games/puzzles.html

Math "Games”
Cool Math http://www.coolmath.com/home.htm
Simon Says http://www.mathsnet.net/cruncher/simon.html
Metropolis: Game of Percent, Decimals and Fractions http://tower23.com/metro/index.htm
Cyberchase http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/games.html
Interactive Games http://www.oswego.org/staff/cchamber/techno/games.htm
Magnetic Numbers http://home.freeuk.net/elloughton13/scramble1.htm  
BOTZ http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=BattleBot_Puzzle
Arithmatiles  http://www.primarygames.com/math/arithmetiles/start.htm
Da Numba http://www.primarygames.com/math/danumba/start.htm


Museums

American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org 
The Field Museum http://www.fieldmuseum.org
Boston Museum of Science http://www.mos.org/
Exploratorium http://www.exploratorium.edu

Articulation http://www.brigantine.atlnet.org/GigapaletteGALLERY/websites/ARTiculationFinal/MainPages/index.htm

Fun Sites

Prongo http://www.prongo.com/games/index.html
How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com

Protozone  http://www.protozone.net/AJinteractives1.html
SuperThinkers  http://superpages.com/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/index.html
Digital Films http://digitalfilms.com/
Cliposcope http://nfbkids.ca/ultrabug/web_en/ 
City Creator http://www.citycreator.com/
Brain Pop videos http://www.brainpop.com

Brainquest http://brainquest.com/
Yuckiest Site on the Internet http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/
Art Attacks http://www.hitentertainment.com/artattack/index_noflash.html


FastCounter by bCentral

To add or remove sites from "Curriculum Links" e-mail nbosch@aol.com
Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail Nancy Bosch
nbosch@aol.com, web editor
Last update 09/19/08 01:38 PM
Copyright 1997-2008 Nancy Bosch

yellowmonte.gif (3568 bytes)

Also Visit
The Broken Arrow Enhanced Learning Center
http://connections.smsd.org/el

A Different Place
http://www.adifferentplace.org