curriculum links enrichment.gif (15648 bytes)

Fourth Grade
Purpose
There are times during the day when students might benefit from enhancing or reinforcing curriculum skills independently.  Students may use these sites in lieu of classroom work already mastered. Sites include resources, tools, practice games and research links.

*indicates district objective

ALERT! These links will take you to sites outside the Nieman EL site. Nieman Enhanced Learning Center and the Shawnee Mission School District are not responsible for material linked to outside websites.   Students need to understand that conflicting information may be found on the Internet.  Teachers should visit all sites to make sure that they are appropriate for grade level learners in content and readability.

TEACHERS: If you find sites that you would like added to or removed from these lists just email  nibosch@smsd.org

Reading and Language Arts

Online Magazines Online Books, Stories and Poetry Author's Sites Writing
Science and Health Social Studies Mathematics Math Extras Math "Games"
Science Extras Museums Fun Sites Manipulatives

Reading and Language Arts
*Expand Vocabulary

Level 1 Vocabulary  http://www.vocabulary.com/VUlevel1S137.html
Read the instructions carefully and fill in the correct words.  There are several different activities you can do.  Print and turn into your teacher after you finish an activity.

Wizard Words http://www.vocabulary.com/VUwizard.html
Holiday Traditions http://www.vocabulary.com/AOLholidaytrad16.html
School Vocabulary Calendar http://www.vocabulary.com/schoolcalendar.html

Language Arts Activities http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=L2_LanguageArts   After you choose the activity you want to do you will be asked to register.   Click on the button that says "Maybe Later". Choose an activity that is at you grade level or higher. Try Punctuation Paintball, Rocket Word Tag, Supernova Sentence Structures, and Alien Word Mine.

Grammar Gorillas http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/
Paint by Idioms http://www.funbrain.com/idioms/index.html
The Plural Girls http://www.funbrain.com/plurals/index.html
Word Confusion http://www.funbrain.com/whichword/index.html
Rooting Out Words http://www.funbrain.com/roots/index.html
Prefix Catch http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/prefixcatch/prefixcatch_sr_content.html
Fake Out! http://www.eduplace.com/fakeout/  

Online Magazines
*Read fluently at grade level
*Read self-selected materials
*Apply reading strategies

National Geographic Explorer http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngexplorer/index.html
Time Magazine for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
Sports Illustrated for Kids http://www.sikids.com/
Consumer Reports 4 Kids http://www.zillions.org/
Scholastic News http://teacher.scholastic.com/scholasticnews/
Science News for Kids http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/

Online Books, Stories and Poems
Winged Sandals http://www.wingedsandals.com/
Myth Web http://www.mythweb.com/
The Adventures of Banph http://www.banph.com/
Bunyips: Aboriginal Stories from Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/exhibitions/bunyips/  
Fletcher Hill Stories http://fletcherhill.com/
Giggle Poetry http://www.gigglepoetry.com/
Brothers Grimm http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/
Kid's Mysteries http://kids.mysterynet.com/
Peetnik Mysteries http://151.138.2.30/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/welcome.html
Famous People Read Stories http://www.bookpals.net/storyline/

Author's Sites
Judy Blume's Home Base http://www.judyblume.com/
Brian Jacques Official Site http://www.redwall.org/
Harry Potter Homepage http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp
Roald Dahl http://www.roalddahl.com/
Lemony Snicket http://www.lemonysnicket.com/ 

Writing
*Apply the writing process
*Use different modes of writing for different purposes
*Use characteristics of all six traits writing

Paragraph Punch http://www.paragraphpunch.com/cgi-bin/pp1.pl?step=1   Use this interactive application to practice writing a good paragraph.
Essay Punch http://www.essaypunch.com/cgi-bin/ep1.pl?step=1 Use this interactive application to practice writing a good essay. 
Creative Writing for Kids http://www.creativewriting4kids.com/
Creative Writing Prompts http://www.creativewritingprompts.com
Writing the Journey http://www.writingthejourney.com/
Stationary for Your Writing http://www.primarygames.com/print_zone/stationery/older/bigstationery.htm

*Use and interpret graphs, charts and tables

Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/
Using Data and Statistics http://www.mathleague.com/help/data/data.htm  
Graph Activities http://volweb.utk.edu/Schools/bedford/thomas/graph.html


Science and Health

*Plan and conduct controlled experiments to test hypotheses

Science Fair Central http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
SciFair. Org http://www.scifair.org/

All Science Fair Projects http://www.all-science-fair-projects.com/

*Collect and record data using metric measurements

Megaconverter http://megaconverter.com/mega2/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ipka/A0876863.html
Measurement Quizzes http://www.mathwizz.com/practical/index.htm
Measurement Games http://www.gamequarium.com/measurement.html
Measurement http://www.aaamath.com/mea.html

*Summarize information on graphs, charts, and diagrams

Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Using Data and Statistics http://www.mathleague.com/help/data/data.htm 
Graph Activities http://volweb.utk.edu/Schools/bedford/thomas/graph.html

*Invent a product to solve a problem

The Lemelson Center http://invention.smithsonian.org/home/
Invention Dimension http://web.mit.edu/invent/invent-main.html
Inventors http://cybersleuth-kids.com/sleuth/Science/Inventors/
Inventor’s Hall of Fame  http://www.invent.org/hall_of_fame/1_1_search.asp
The History of Inventions http://www.cbc.ca/kids/general/the-lab/history-of-invention/default.html
Patent Office for Kids http://www.uspto.gov/go/kids/

*Describe the causes of climate, seasons and length of days

EPA for Kids http://www.epa.gov/globalwarming/kids/
Cool Kids for a Cool Climate http://www.coolkidsforacoolclimate.com/
World Almanac for Kids http://www.worldalmanacforkids.com/explore/environment.html

*Describe how weather patterns are used to make predictions

Web Weather for Kids http://www.ucar.edu/educ_outreach/webweather/
National Weather Service for Kids http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/reachout/kidspage.shtml
Kid’s Hazards Quiz http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/seg/hazard/kqStart.shtml
Dan’s Wild Wild Weather Page http://www.wildwildweather.com/
Weather Laboratory http://scijinks.jpl.nasa.gov/weather/
Owlie Skywarn’s Weather Book (print) http://www.nws.noaa.gov/om/brochures/OwlieSkywarnBrochure.pdf

*Describe changes in the earth’s surface
*Explain the causes of volcanoes and earthquakes  

Changes in the Earth’s Surface http://cse.cosm.sc.edu/hses/surfeat/frames.htm
Earthquakes http://www.fema.gov/kids/quake.htm
USGS Earthquakes for Kids http://earthquake.usgs.gov/4kids/
The Tech Earthquakes  http://www.thetech.org/exhibits_events/online/quakes/
Life Along the Fault line http://www.exploratorium.edu/faultline/
Volcanoes http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngexplorer/0405/articles/mainarticle.html
Volcanoes http://www.fema.gov/kids/volcano.htm
Volcanoes http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Photo/Pictograms/framework.html
Can We Predict Volcano Eruptions? http://www.learner.org/exhibits/volcanoes/
Landforms and Bodies of Water Illustrated Glossary http://www.enchantedlearning.com/geography/landforms/glossary.shtml
Landforms http://www.edu.pe.ca/southernkings/landforms.htm

*Discuss plate tectonics

All About Plate Tectonics http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/astronomy/planets/earth/Continents.shtml
On the Move http://kids.earth.nasa.gov/archive/pangaea/
Plate Tectonics Animations http://www.ucmp.berkeley.edu/geology/tectonics.html

*Illustrate the properties and distributions of earth’s water

Oceans Alive http://www.mos.org/oceans/
Oceans from Enchanted Learning http://www.enchantedlearning.com/coloring/oceanlife.shtml
Planet Ocean http://school.discovery.com/schooladventures/planetocean/index.html

*Demonstrate the size and distance from the sun to the planets

The Sun http://starchild.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/StarChild/solar_system_level2/sun.html
Exactly How Big Is the Sun? http://earthsky.com/scienceqs/browsefaq.php?f=74

*Understand the effects of gravity

Gravity Basics http://www.mansfieldct.org/schools/MMS/staff/hand/Lawsgrav.htm 
What Goes Up Must Come Down http://www.sunblock99.org.uk/sb99/people/RWalsh/gravity/grav1.html
Your Weight on Other Worlds http://www.exploratorium.edu/ronh/weight/index.html

*Construct a Simple Circuit

The Blobz Guide to Electrical Circuits http://www.andythelwell.com/blobz/
Edison's Miracle of Light http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/edison/index.html
Learn About Electricity http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/edison/index.html
Understanding Electricity http://whyfiles.larc.nasa.gov/text/kids/Problem_Board/problems/electricity/electricity2.html

Science Extras
Science Mysteries http://www.accessexcellence.org/AE/mspot/
The NASA Science Files http://scifiles.larc.nasa.gov/treehouse.html

NASA Space Place http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/en/kids/

Africam http://www.africam.com/

Cloud Clues  http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/clouds/cloudsread.html

National Geographic for Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/

Try Science http://www.tryscience.org/

Sim Science http://simscience.org

Junglewalk http://junglewalk.com
Oology http://www.ology.amnh.org/

Particle Adventure http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Acme Virtual Detective Agency http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Experiments http://www.hunkinsexperiments.com/
Cool Science for Curious Kids http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/index.html
Sports Science
http://www.exploratorium.edu/sports/index.html
Kineticity http://www.kineticcity.com/
The Atoms Family http://www.miamisci.org/af/sln/


Social Studies

*Explore the cultural elements of Native Americans of North America

American Indians and the Natural World http://www.carnegiemuseums.org/cmnh/exhibits/north-south-east-west/index.html
First Nations Histories http://www.tolatsga.org/Compacts.html
Native American Shelters http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/prehistory/settlements/index.shtml 
American Indian Biographies http://www.42explore2.com/native3.htm
Indian Battles. Movements and Events http://www.42explore2.com/native2.htm
Native American Food and Recipes http://nativetech.nativeweb.org/food/index.php
Native North America http://www.mnsu.edu/emuseum/cultural/northamerica/index.shtml

*Describe the cultural elements of the regions of the United States
*Identify and locate the regions of the United States
*Identify the 50 states and corresponding capitals

Regions Maps, Quizzes http://www.enchantedlearning.com/usa/statesbw/regions.shtml
US Regions http://www.edina.k12.mn.us/cornelia/classrooms/4th/links/usregions.htm
States Games http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/web_games.htm
50 States http://www.50states.com/

*Participate in a study of Kansas

Kansas Fact Sheets http://www.netstate.com/states/geography/ks_geography.htm
Kansas Info http://www.theus50.com/kansas/history.shtml
Kansas Government http://www.accesskansas.org/government/index.html
Famous Kansans http://www.kshs.org/kids/famous.htm
States (and Capitals) Practice http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/web_games.htm
The Frontier House http://www.pbs.org/wnet/frontierhouse/index.html
Lewis and Clark http://www.lewis-clark.org
How to do Old time Stuff http://waltonfeed.com/old/


Mathematics

*Memorize multiplication and division fact from 0x0 to 12x12

Multiflyer http://www.gdbdp.com/multiflyer/v02_final/playgame.html
Quick Flash http://www.multiplication.com/interactive/quickflash/flash/index.html
Batter’s Up Baseball http://www.prongo.com/math/index.html
Flashcards http://www.aplusmath.com/Flashcards/
Timed Flashcards http://www.blackdog.net/games/math/flash/
Practice Multiplication Facts http://www.programmingart.com/free/games/multiply/

*Translate any word problem into an equation involving one of four operations

Solving Math Word Problems http://www.studygs.net/mathproblems.htm
Word Problems
http://www.stfx.ca/special/mathproblems/grade5.html
Math Cats (choose Alley Cat, Leopard or Tiger) http://www.mathcats.com/storyproblems.html
Disaster Math http://www.fema.gov/kids/dizmath.htm

*Express and interpret decimal values to thousandths

Fourth Grade Decimals http://www.aaamath.com/B/grade4.htm#topic13
Place Values of Decimals
http://www.aaamath.com/plc51b-placevalues.html
Frog Palace http://games.funschool.com/game.php?g=1074&category=0&level=0&jamc=dbz84b24nq
Decimal Multiplication Football http://www.funbrain.com/cgi-bin/fb.cgi?A1=start3&A2=Hard&ALG=No&INSTRUCTS=1

*Show the process of multiplication and division of whole numbers

Dividing four digits by two digits http://www.aaamath.com/B/div55_x2.htm
Math Baseball http://www.funbrain.com/math/
Multiplication Games http://www.multiplication.com/games.htm

*Multiply (three-digit by three-digit) and divide (divisors of two digit) whole numbers

Multiplication http://www.aaamath.com/B/mul.htm
Multiplication Practice
http://www.multiplication.com/teach.htm
Division http://www.321know.com/div.htm

*Apply a variety of strategies to solve problems including guess and check, deductive reasoning, and tree diagrams

Aunty Math http://www.dupagechildrensmuseum.org/aunty/chmain.html
Brain Binders http://www.teachnet.com/brainbinders/
Brainbashers  http://www.brainbashers.com/
Math Plane and Simple http://tower23.com/pns/index.htm
Quest for the Bridge  http://tower23.com/house/heimdal/index.htm
Toyland http://tower23.com/house/heimdal/index.htm
Enrich http://www.nrich.maths.org/public/index.php
Problem Solving from the Franklin Institute http://sln.fi.edu/school/math2/
Tangrams http://standards.nctm.org/document/eexamples/chap4/4.4/
Mystery Master http://www.mysterymaster.com/puzzles.html
BOTZ http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=BattleBot_Puzzle

*Measure length to the nearest half and fourth inch, capacity to the nearest half and fourth cup, and weight to the nearest ounce or pound

Measure It! http://www.funbrain.com/measure/
US Length Measurement http://www.aaamath.com/B/mea69x11.htm

*Know basic measurement equivalencies: inches, feet, yards, miles, ounces, pounds, tons, cups, pints, quarts, and gallons

Megaconverter http://megaconverter.com/mega2/
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/ipka/A0876863.html
Measurement Quizzes http://www.mathwizz.com/practical/index.htm
Measurement Games http://www.gamequarium.com/measurement.html
Measurement http://www.aaamath.com/mea.html

* Organize given data in a chart or graph

Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Using Data and Statistics http://www.mathleague.com/help/data/data.htm  
Graph Activities http://volweb.utk.edu/Schools/bedford/thomas/graph.html

*Use the concepts of probability to make decisions and predictions and justify them

Mrs. MathGoodies Probability http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/toc_vol6.html
Certain and Impossible Events http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/vol6/certain_impossible.html
Kid's Dice Page http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/probability/probability.asp
Fish Tank http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/mathsfile/shockwave/games/fish.html
Stick or Switch?
http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/frames_asid_117_g_3_t_5.html  

Manipulatives
Pattern Blocks http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_169_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities
Tangrams http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_112_g_2_t_1.html?open=activities
Pentominos http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_114_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities

Mastermind http://thinks.com/java/mastermind/mastermind.htm

Online Paint by Number
Griddlers http://www.griddlers.net/ 
Pic-A-Pix
http://www.conceptispuzzles.com/index.htm
Japanese Crosswords http://puzzle.geoweb.ge/online.htm
Paint by Number http://www.blindchicken.com/~ali/games/puzzles.html

Math Extras
Fractions http://www.aaamath.com/B/fra.htm
Who Wants Pizza? http://math.rice.edu/~lanius/fractions/index.html
Geometry http://www.aaamath.com/B/geo.ht
Decimals http://www.aaamath.com/B/dec.htm
Consumer Math http://www.aaamath.com/B/mny.htm
Interactive Manipulatives http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/vlibrary.html
Percents http://www.aaamath.com/B/pct.htm

Math "Games”
Cool Math http://www.coolmath.com/home.htm
Simon Says http://www.mathsnet.net/cruncher/simon.html
Metropolis: Game of Percent, Decimals and Fractions http://tower23.com/metro/index.htm
Cyberchase http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/games.html
Interactive Games http://www.oswego.org/staff/cchamber/techno/games.htm
Magnetic Numbers http://home.freeuk.net/elloughton13/scramble1.htm
Arithmatiles  
http://www.primarygames.com/math/arithmetiles/start.htm
DaNumba http://www.primarygames.com/math/danumba/start.htm


Museums

American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org 
The Field Museum http://www.fieldmuseum.org
Boston Museum of Science http://www.mos.org/
Exploratorium http://www.exploratorium.edu

Articulation http://www.brigantine.atlnet.org/GigapaletteGALLERY/websites/ARTiculationFinal/MainPages/index.htm

Fun Sites

Prongo http://www.prongo.com/games/index.html
How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com

Protozone  http://www.protozone.net/AJinteractives1.html
SuperThinkers  http://superpages.com/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/index.html
Digital Films http://digitalfilms.com/
Cliposcope http://onfjeunesse.ca/showcase/index_e.html
City Creator http://www.citycreator.com/
Brain Pop videos http://www.brainpop.com

Brainquest http://brainquest.com/
Yuckiest Site on the Internet http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/
Art Attacks http://www.hitentertainment.com/artattack/index_noflash.html


FastCounter by bCentral

To add or remove sites from "Curriculum Links" e-mail nbosch@aol.com
Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail Nancy Bosch
nbosch@aol.com, web editor
Last update 09/19/08 01:38 PM
Copyright 1997-2008 Nancy Bosch

yellowmonte.gif (3568 bytes)

Also Visit
The Broken Arrow Enhanced Learning Center
http://connections.smsd.org/el

A Different Place
http://www.adifferentplace.org