header4.jpg (14276 bytes)
workshops.jpg (3697 bytes)

Where is it? What is It? How can I find it?

Helping your Child
 Get the Best out of the Internet

October 21, 2005
Nancy Bosch nbosch@aol.com

A Different Place http://adifferentplace.org
Nieman Enhanced Learning Center http://connections.smsd.org/nieman/el

Internet Safety
Safe Kids http://www.safekids.com
Safety http://www.yahooligans.com/parents/safety.html
Surf Swell Island (for younger kids) http://disney.go.com/surfswell/index.html
Kids Privacy http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/conline/edcams/kidzprivacy/


How to Improve your Searching 
Four NETS for Better Searching http://webquest.sdsu.edu/searching/fournets.htm
KidsClick Search Lessons http://www.rcls.org/wows/ 

More About Search Engines http://searchenginewatch.com/links/article.php/2156221#top

Adult Search Engines/Directories/Meta-Search Engines
*http://www.google.com
http://www.altavista.com
http://www.hotbot.com
http://www.infoseek.com 
http://www.dogpile.com
http://www.metacrawler.com
http://one2seek.com/
http://www.webcrawler.com
*http://www.yahoo.com

*http://kartoo.com  visual search engine

The Invisible Web
Invisible Web: What it is, Why it exists, How to find it, and Its inherent ambiguity
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/InvisibleWeb.html
The Deep Web http://www.brightplanet.com/technology/deepweb.asp
Uncovering the Hidden Web Part I
http://www.ericfacility.net/databases/ERIC_Digests/ed456863.html
Uncovering the Hidden Web Part II http://www.ericfacility.net/databases/ERIC_Digests/ed456864.html

Search Engines that Search Databases
CompletePlanet http://completeplanet.com
Fossick.com http://fossick.com/
InfoMine http://infomine.ucr.edu/
Those Dark Hiding Places (hotlist)  http://library.rider.edu/scholarly/rlackie/Invisible/Inv_Web.html

Kid Friendly Search Engines/Directories
*Yahooligans http://www.yahooligans.com
*KidsClick http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/KidsClick!/
*Alfy http://www.alfy.com
Ask Jeeves for Kids http://ajkids.com/
AOL@ school http://school.aol.com/
Fact Monster  http://www.factmonster.com/ 
Ithaki for Kids http://kids.ithaki.net/   (search 7 kids search engines at once)

Educational Lists
Kathy Schrock's Guide http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/
*Librarian's Index to the Internet http://www.lii.org/
ALA Great Sites http://www.ala.org/parentspage/greatsites/
Educational Hotlists from The Franklin Institute http://sln.fi.edu/tfi/hotlists/hotlists.html
Library in the Sky http://www.nwrel.org/sky/
4Kids www.4kids.org
Awesome Library http://www.awesomelibrary.org/

Want the Sites Sent to You?
Blue Web'N http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/updates.html
Surfing the Net with Kids http://surfnetkids.com/

Things to Do Everyday
*Weather Channel http://www.weather.com/index.html
*Earthweek http://www.earthweek.com/

Word of the Day
*Webster's Dictionary http://www.m-w.com/cgi-bin/mwwod.pl
Word Central's Daily Buzzword  http://www.wordcentral.com/
A Word A Day http://www.wordsmith.org/awad/
*Analogy of the Day http://www.factmonster.com/cgi-bin/analogy
*Idiom of the Day
http://www.englishonline.net/idiom.html 
Biology Term of the Day http://www.biospace.com/gls_detail.cfm?termDay=1
Worthless Word for the Day http://home.mn.rr.com/wwftd/

Today in History
The History Channel http://www.history.com/tdih.do
Infoplease http://www.infoplease.com/cgi-bin/dayinhistory?promo=n13
Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/today/
Born on This Day http://www.biography.com/

Miscellaneous
*Trivia Today http://halife.com/daily/trivia.html
The Useless Fact of the Day
http://www.coolquiz.com/trivia/
Mathematical Fact of the Day http://www.mathsnet.net/dailyfact.html
The Quotations Page http://www.quotationspage.com/qotd.html
Super Kids Quote of the Day http://www.superkids.com/aweb/tools/quotes/simple/
Question of the Day from HowStuffWorks.com http://www.howstuffworks.com/question-of-the-day.htm
*World Population Clock http://www.census.gov/main/www/popclock.html
*World Debt Clock http://brillig.com/debt_clock/

News
* Time 4 Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
* Yahooligans News http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/content/news/
* New York Times for Kids http://www.nytimes.com/learning/

Online Tools

Bibliography Makers
Easybib http://www.easybib.com/
*Citation Machine
http://landmark-project.com/citation_machine/cm.php
Bib Builder 1.3 http://jerz.setonhill.edu/writing/academic/bib_builder/index.html
*Citation Maker (for younger students)

http://www.openc.k12.or.us/citeintro/citeintro.php?Grd=Elem
Citation Maker (secondary)
http://www.openc.k12.or.us/citeintro/citeintro.php?Grd=Sec
Template for asking permission to use something on a website http://landmark-project.com/permission_student.php

Bookmark storage
BackFlip http://www.backflip.com/login.ihtml 

Calculators/Converters
Mega Convertor http://www.megaconverter.com/mega2/ (broken 3/10/04)
Metric Calculator http://www.worldwidemetric.com/metcal.htm
Tool Box financial calculators http://www.strongkids.com/tool/toolindex.htm
Car Loan and Allowance Calculators http://www.statefarm.com/learning/calc/calc.asp 

Clipart
*Discovery School http://school.discovery.com/clipart
*Teacher Files http://www.teacherfiles.com/clip_art.htm
Awesome Clipart for Kids http://www.awesomeclipartforkids.com/ 
Classroom Clipart http://classroomclipart.com

Dictionaries/References 
*Word Central (Merriam Webster) http://www.wordcentral.com/
Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/
Rhyming Dictionary http://www.rhymezone.com/
*Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/
Library Spot http://www.libraryspot.com/ 
Visual Thesaurus http://www.visualthesaurus.com/online/index.html

E-mail, Free Student
*Juniormail http://www.juniormail.com
Gaggle http://www.gaggle.net

Epals http://www.epals.com

Fun Fonts for Kids
*Mom's Fonts http://www.momscorner4kids.com/fonts/index.htm
*Millan Animated Gifs http://www.millan.net/anims/giffar.html

Free photos
Amazing Picture Machine http://www.ncrtec.org/picture.htm
*Pics4Learning http://pics4learning.com/
Free Stock Photos http://www.freestockphotos.com/
Surweb  http://www.surweb.org/

Graphs
*Create A Graph http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/Graphing/
*Your Nation http://www.your-nation.com/  

Satellite Images
*Terrafly http://www.terrafly.com
*Terraserver  http://www.terraserver.com/
Digital Globe  http://www.digitalglobe.com
Earth and Moon Viewer http://www.fourmilab.ch/earthview/vplanet.html
The Earth Observing System http://eospso.gsfc.nasa.gov/  
USGS Terra Web for Kids http://terraweb.wr.usgs.gov/TRS/kids/

Maps
*
Map Generator http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/ 
Outline Maps http://geography.about.com/cs/blankoutlinemaps/ 
*
Altapedia http://www.atlapedia.com/index.html

Homework Helpers
Education World http://www.education-world.com/students/study/index.shtml
Fact Monster http://www.factmonster.com/index.html
*
Homework Spot http://www.homeworkspot.com/

*BJ Pinchbeck’s Homework Helper http://school.discovery.com/homeworkhelp/bjpinchbeck/
*Pitsco’s Ask an Expert http://www.askanexpert.com/ 
*Science Fair Central http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
*SciFair. Org http://www.scifair.org/  

Music
Music Notation Software http://www.greece.k12.ny.us/task/tools/Finale%20Notepad%202002.htm
*Toy Symphony (Hyperscore Free Download) http://amoxifen.media.mit.edu/hyperscore/featured_scores.php
NIEHS Music (lyrics and music to all old songs)  http://www.niehs.nih.gov/kids/music.htm

Polls/Surveys
*Zoomerang http://www.zoomerang.com/index.zgi
Response-o-matic http://www.response-o-matic.com/
Survey Key http://www.surveykey.com/
Free Polls http://freepolls.com/
Opinion Power http://www.opinionpower.com/

Puzzle Makers
John's Word Search Puzzles http://www.thepotters.com/puzzles/kids.html
*Puzzlemaker http://puzzlemaker.school.discovery.com/
Crossword Puzzle Maker http://www.teach-nology.com/web_tools/crossword/ 
Genuine Class Word Search Maker http://www.genuineclass.com/games/wordsearch.html
Maze Maker http://www.flint.umich.edu/Departments/ITS/crac/maze.form.html

Recipes
Ooey, Gooey Recipes for the Classroom
http://www.pascience.org/tips/OoeyGooey2.html

Sounds
Find Sounds  http://www.findsounds.com/
Surweb http://www.surweb.org/ 
Sounds http://www.webplaces.com/html/sounds.htm

TimeLine Makers
Our Time Lines http://www.ourtimelines.com/create_tl_2c.html
Time Line Generators http://teachers.teach-nology.com/web_tools/materials/timelines/ 

Translators
Free Translator http://www.freetranslation.com/

Dictionary Link http://www.dictionarylink.com/
Babelfish.com $  http://www.babelfish.com/

WebCams
*
WebCams for Kids http://www.earthcamforkids.com/  
Earth Cams http://www.earthcam.com/    
*
Panda Cam http://www.sandiegozoo.org/pandas/pandacam/index.html
*
Guinea Pig Cam http://www.cavycam.com/  
A Bird’s Eye View of Webcams 
http://www.abirdseyeviewof.com

Webpage Makers for Students
Project Poster (students only) http://poster.hprtec.org/
*MatMice http://www.matmice.com/ 

WebTools
Media Builder http://www.mediabuilder.com/ 
Page Tutor http://www.pagetutor.com
HTML Code Tutor http://www.htmlcodetutorial.com/
Webmonkey for Kids http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/kids/

Best Sites for Kids

Art
*National Gallery of Art http://www.nga.gov
*Color Pencil Challenge http://cpchallenge.com/  

Museums
*American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org 
*
The Field Museum http://www.fieldmuseum.org
Boston Museum of Science http://www.mos.org/
Exploratorium http://www.exploratorium.edu
*Junglewalk http://junglewalk.com

Science
*I KnowThat $ http://iknowthat.com
*Oology http://www.ology.amnh.org/
*Particle Adventure http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
*Acme Virtual Detective Agency http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
*Brainpop http://brainpop.com
*How Stuff Works  http://www.howstuffworks.com/
*Why Files http://whyfiles.org/ 
*Dinosauria Online http://www.dinosauria.com/
*Invention Dimension http://web.mit.edu/invent/
*NASA for Kids http://kids.msfc.nasa.gov/
*Mars Rover http://marsrovers.jpl.nasa.gov/home/index.html

Nanoworld http://www.uq.oz.au/nanoworld/nanohome.html
The Yuckiest Site on the Internet http://www.yucky.com/
NOVA http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/
Cracking the Code http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/genome/dna.html

Social Studies
*The Lost Maya King http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/maya/
*Nova Pyramids http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/pyramid/
*Ben’s Guide to US Government http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
*Anne Frank the Writer http://www.ushmm.org/museum/exhibit/online/af/htmlsite/
*Martha Ballard’s Diary http://www.dohistory.org
*Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov
*Treasure Hunt: Science and Innovation http://lcweb2.loc.gov/learn/educators/workshop/discover/treas.html

* Eyewitness  “History through the eyes of those who lived it” http://www.ibiscom.com/index.html 

Math--

*Illuminations National Council of Teachers of Mathematics http://illuminations.nctm.org/
 

*National Library of Virtual Manipulatives http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/index.html
*Math Lessons That Are Fun, Fun, Fun! http://math.rice.edu/~lanius/Lessons/index.html
*Cool Math 4 Kids http://www.coolmath4kids.com
*Funschool http://funschool.com

Reading

Visit the sites of favorite children's books and authors

Judy Blume's Home Base http://www.judyblume.com/
Brian Jacques Official Site http://www.redwall.org/
Harry Potter Homepage http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp
Dr. Suess's Suessville http://www.randomhouse.com/seussville/
Roald Dahl http://www.roalddahl.com/
Magic School Bus http://www.scholastic.com/magicschoolbus/home.htm
Lemony Snicket http://www.lemonysnicket.com/ 

Starfall http://www.starfall.com
Kid’s Mystery Net http://kids.mysterynet.com/
The Wide World of Verbs http://www.kyrene.k12.az.us/schools/brisas/sunda/verb/enter.htm

Wacky Fun Sites

*Digital Films http://digitalfilms.com/
*Cliposcope http://onfjeunesse.ca/showcase/index_e.html

*City Creator http://www.citycreator.com/
*Brainquest http://brainquest.com/

*Lite Brite http://www.sfpg.com/animation/liteBrite.html
*Etch a Sketch http://www.etch-a-sketch.com/html/onlineetch.htm

*Magnetic Poetry http://www.magneticpoetry.com/magnet/ 
*Online Jigsaw Puzzles http://www.jigzone.com/
*Segmation online Paint by Number http://www.segmation.com/SegPlayOverview.html
Sliding Puzzle http://www.slidingpuzzle.com

*Chess Academy http://brainquest.com/

Nancy’s Sites

A Different Place http://adifferentplace.org
Nieman Enhanced Learning Center http://connections.smsd.org/nieman/el
Guardians of Freedom http://connections.smsd.org/veterans
Curriculum Links http://adifferentplace.org/links.htm

Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail Nancy Bosch
nbosch@aol.com, web editor
Last update 09/19/08 01:37 PM
Copyright 1997-2008 Nancy Bosch

yellowmonte.gif (3568 bytes)

Also Visit
The Broken Arrow Enhanced Learning Center
http://connections.smsd.org/el

A Different Place
http://www.adifferentplace.org