curriculum links enrichment.gif (15648 bytes)

Third Grade
Purpose
There are times during the day when students might benefit from enhancing or reinforcing curriculum skills independently.  Students may use these sites in lieu of classroom work already mastered. Sites include resources, tools, practice games and research links.

*indicates district objective

ALERT! These links will take you to sites outside the Nieman EL site. Nieman Enhanced Learning Center and the Shawnee Mission School District are not responsible for material linked to outside websites.   Students need to understand that conflicting information may be found on the Internet.  Teachers should visit all sites to make sure that they are appropriate for grade level learners in content and readability.

TEACHERS: If you find sites that you would like added to or removed from these lists just email  nibosch@smsd.org

Reading and Language Arts

Online Magazines Online Books, Stories and Poetry Author's Sites Writing
Science and Health Social Studies Mathematics Math Extras Math "Games"
Science Extras Museums Fun Sites Manipulatives

Reading and Language Arts
*Expand Vocabulary

Language Arts Activities http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=L2_LanguageArts   After you choose the activity you want to do you will be asked to register.   Click on the button that says "Maybe Later". Choose an activity that is at you grade level or higher. Try the activities below.

Scrambled Stories http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=ScrambledStory
Word Search http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=WordSearch
Word Match http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=WordMatch
Word Builder http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=WordBuilder
Alien Word Mine http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=WackAWord
Supernova Sentece Puzzles http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=SelectAWord

Grammar Gorillas http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/
Paint by Idioms http://www.funbrain.com/idioms/index.html
The Plural Girls http://www.funbrain.com/plurals/index.html
Word Confusion http://www.funbrain.com/whichword/index.html
Rooting Out Words http://www.funbrain.com/roots/index.html
Prefix Catch http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/prefixcatch/prefixcatch_sr_content.html
Fake Out! http://www.eduplace.com/fakeout/
 

What's the Word?
http://www.funbrain.com/vocab/
Word Confusion http://www.funbrain.com/whichword/index.html
Stay Afloat http://www.funbrain.com/hangman/index.html
Alphabet Games http://www.playkidsgames.com/alphabetGames.htm
Vocabulary Games http://www.playkidsgames.com/vocabularyGames.htm

Online Magazines
*Read fluently at grade level
*Read self-selected materials
*Apply reading strategies

National Geographic Explorer http://magma.nationalgeographic.com/ngexplorer/index.html
Time Magazine for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
Sports Illustrated for Kids http://www.sikids.com/
Consumer Reports 4 Kids http://www.zillions.org/

Scholastic News http://teacher.scholastic.com/scholasticnews/
Science News for Kids http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/

Online Books, Stories and Poems
The Adventures of Banph http://www.banph.com/
Bunyips: Aboriginal Stories from Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/exhibitions/bunyips/ 
Fletcher Hill Stories http://fletcherhill.com/
Giggle Poetry http://www.gigglepoetry.com/
Brothers Grimm http://www.nationalgeographic.com/grimm/
Peetnik Mysteries http://151.138.2.30/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/welcome.html

Famous People Read Stories http://www.bookpals.net/storyline/

Author's Sites
Magic Schoolbus http://place.scholastic.com/magicschoolbus/home.htm
Beverly Cleary http://www.beverlycleary.com/index.html
Judy Blume's Home Base http://www.judyblume.com/
Brian Jacques Official Site http://www.redwall.org/
Harry Potter Homepage http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp
Roald Dahl http://www.roalddahl.com/
Lemony Snicket http://www.lemonysnicket.com/ 

Writing
*Apply the writing process
*Use different modes of writing for different purposes

*Use characteristics of all six traits writing
Creative Writing Prompts http://www.creativewritingprompts.com
Wacky Web Tales
http://www.eduplace.com/tales/
Stationary for Your Writing http://www.primarygames.com/print_zone/stationery/older/bigstationery.htm

*Use and interpret graphs, charts and tables
Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph
http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/ 


Science and Health

*Design and conduct a simple experiment
Science Fair Central http://school.discovery.com/sciencefaircentral/
SciFair.Org http://www.scifair.org/

All Science Fair Projects
http://www.all-science-fair-projects.com/

*Collect and record data using the appropriate measurement tools, tables and graphs
Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph
http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/ 

*Classify objects by more than one property
Classifying Objects http://www.oswego.org/testprep/math4/c/classifyobjectsl.cfm
Classifying Objects #2 http://www.oswego.org/testprep/math4/c/classifyobjectsl2.cfm
Shape Sorter http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/shapesorter/shapesorter.asp
Color, Shape and Size http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_270_g_2_t_3.html?open=instructions

*Interpret daily weather data
Weather for Kids http://www.ucar.edu/educ_outreach/webweather/
School Day Weather http://www.weather.com/activities/homeandgarden/schoolday/
Interesting Weather Facts http://home.nycap.rr.com/teachertown/weathfac.html
The Disaster Area http://www.fema.gov/kids/dizarea.htm

*Compare various types of soil
Soil Biological Communities http://www.blm.gov/nstc/soil/Kids/
SK Worm Answers Your Questions About Soil and Stuff http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/feature/education/squirm/skQstns.html
Soil Science Education Page http://soil.gsfc.nasa.gov/index.html

*Discuss ways to conserve natural resources
Biodiversity http://ology.amnh.org/biodiversity/
Wildlife Conservation Society http://wcs.org/
Smokey Bear http://www.smokeybear.com/
Earthcare Stories http://www.earthsky.org/shows/earthcare/topics.php?s=s

*Research causes and prevention of land and water pollution
Pollution Coloring Books http://www.niehs.nih.gov/kids/colauntie.htm
Environmental Kids Club
http://www.epa.gov/kids/

*Identify programs that involve recycling
Recycle City http://www.epa.gov/recyclecity/
The World's Shortest Comprehensive Recycling Guide http://www.obviously.com/recycle/guides/shortest.html

*Experiment with sound
Sound Site http://www.sci.mus.mn.us/sound/
Energy in the Air http://tqjunior.thinkquest.org/5116/
Sonic Boom
http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/barrier/
Sounds Amazing http://www.acoustics.salford.ac.uk/schools/

*Understand digestion is chemical and physical
The Real Deal on the Digestive System http://kidshealth.org/kid/body/digest_noSW.html
Your Digestion System http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/noflash/body/pg000126.html
Digestive System http://www4.tpgi.com.au/users/amcgann/body/digestive.html

*Research various adaptation of animals
Animal Adaptation http://www.ecokids.ca/pub/eco_info/topics/climate/adaptations/index.cfm
Desert Animal Adaptation
http://www.desertusa.com/survive.html

*Discuss how the immune system works
How Your Immune System Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/immune-system.htm
The Immune System  http://www4.tpgi.com.au/users/amcgann/body/immune_system.htm
HIV/AIDS http://kidshealth.org/kid/health_problems/infection/hiv.html

Science Extras
Science Mysteries http://www.accessexcellence.org/AE/mspot/
The NASA Science Files http://scifiles.larc.nasa.gov/treehouse.html
NASA Space Place http://spaceplace.nasa.gov/en/kids/
Africam http://www.africam.com/
Cloud Clues  http://www.northcanton.sparcc.org/~elem/interactivities/clouds/cloudsread.html
National Geographic for Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/
Try Science http://www.tryscience.org/
Sim Science http://simscience.org

Junglewalk http://junglewalk.com
Oology http://www.ology.amnh.org/

Particle Adventure http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/

Acme Virtual Detective Agency http://particleadventure.org/particleadventure/
Experiments http://www.hunkinsexperiments.com/

Cool Science for Curious Kids http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/index.html

Sports Science
http://www.exploratorium.edu/sports/index.html


Social Studies

*Describe the cultural aspects of the local community, metropolitan Kansas City, any world city, and Washington, D.C.: geography, customs, language, history, government, and economics. 
History of Kansas City Mo http://www.kcmo.org/kcmo.nsf/web/kchistory?opendocument
Timeline http://www.kcmo.org/timeline.nsf/web/index/
Kansas City Museum http://www.unionstation.org/kcmuseum.cfm
Kansas City Royals http://kansascity.royals.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/index.jsp?c_id=kc
Kansas City Chiefs http://www.kcchiefs.com/
Negro Leagues Baseball Museum http://www.nlbm.com/
The Nelson Atkins Museum http://www.nelson-atkins.org/

Welcome to Kid's Capital http://kids.dc.gov/
Virtual Tour of the National Mall http://dcpages.com/Tourism/
World Almanac for Kids Washington DC http://www.worldalmanacforkids.com/explore/states/washington_dc.html

*Identify and evaluate landforms and bodies of water (e.g., mountains, plains, islands, peninsulas, rivers, oceans) on maps and globes. 
Physical Features Game http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=ClueMaps
Landform Atlas of the United States http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/states/states.html
Landforms http://www.enchantedlearning.com/geography/landforms/glossary.shtml
Types of Land http://www.harcourtschool.com/activity/types_of_land_2/


*Explain and identify the primary function of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the city and federal government. 
Branches of Government http://bensguide.gpo.gov/3-5/government/branches.html
The White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/government/
The White House for Kids http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids/


Mathematics

*Apply a variety of strategies to solve problems, including (but not limited to) drawing pictures, using manipulatives, role playing, making a list, using T-Charts and finding patterns. 
Aunty Math http://www.dupagechildrensmuseum.org/aunty/chmain.html
Brain Binders http://www.teachnet.com/brainbinders/
Brainbashers  http://www.brainbashers.com/
Math Plane and Simple http://tower23.com/pns/index.htm
Quest for the Bridge  http://tower23.com/house/heimdal/index.htm
Toyland http://tower23.com/house/heimdal/index.htm
Enrich http://www.nrich.maths.org/public/index.php
Problem Solving from the Franklin Institute http://sln.fi.edu/school/math2/
Tangrams http://standards.nctm.org/document/eexamples/chap4/4.4/
Mystery Master http://www.mysterymaster.com/puzzles.html
BOTZ http://www.iknowthat.com/com/L3?Area=BattleBot_Puzzle

*Translate a given word problem into an equation involving addition, subtraction, or multiplication
Solving Math Word Problems http://www.studygs.net/mathproblems.htm
Word Problems http://www.stfx.ca/special/mathproblems/grade5.html
Math Cats (choose Alley Cat, Leopard or Tiger) http://www.mathcats.com/storyproblems.html
Disaster Math http://www.fema.gov/kids/dizmath.htm

*Construct Venn Diagrams with 2 circles. 
Shape Sorter http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/activities/venndia/
Shape Sorter 2 http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/shapesorter/shapesorter.asp
Triangle Sort http://www.crick.northants.sch.uk/Flash%20Studio/cfsmaths/Triangles/triangles.swf

*Use appropriate mathematical notation (>, <, =) to compare values of whole numbers, fractions with like denominators and decimals using tenths and hundredths. 
Comparing Numbers http://www.aaamath.com/cmpk1c-compare-num.html
Comparing Fractions http://www.aaamath.com/fra43a-comparefract.html
Greater Than or Less Than?
http://www.crick.northants.sch.uk/Flash%20Studio/cfsmaths/Compare/ncmenu.html

*Use multiple representations for whole numbers and money. (i.e., 10 is 2*5, 5 + 5, 4 + 2; $1.00 is 100 pennies, 4 quarters) 
Money Games http://www.usmint.gov/kids/index.cfm?fileContents=games
How Many Cents?  http://www.little-g.com/shockwave/cents.html

*Use estimation, including front-end with adjustment, on whole numbers, to determine approximate solutions in addition, subtraction, and multiplication.  
Estimation Practice http://www.aaamath.com/B/est.htm
Estimation of Length http://www.linkslearning.org/Kids/1_Math/2_Illustrated_Lessons/2_Estimation_of_Length/
Estimation Game
http://www.oswego.org/ocsd-web/games/Estimate/estimate.html

*Know by memory multiplication facts 0*0 to 12*12. 
Multiflyer http://www.gdbdp.com/multiflyer/v02_final/playgame.html
Quick Flash http://www.multiplication.com/interactive/quickflash/flash/index.html
Batter’s Up Baseball http://www.prongo.com/math/index.html
Flashcards http://www.aplusmath.com/Flashcards/
Timed Flashcards http://www.blackdog.net/games/math/flash/
Practice Multiplication Facts http://www.programmingart.com/free/games/multiply/


*Add and subtract whole numbers with and without regrouping. 
Line Jumper http://www.funbrain.com/linejump/
Power Football http://www.funbrain.com/football/
Adding http://www.321know.com/add.htm
Subtraction http://www.321know.com/sub.htm

*Multiply 1 digit by 3 digit numbers.
Multiplication http://www.aaamath.com/B/mul.htm
Multiplication Practice http://www.multiplication.com/teach.htm

*Solves problems of elapsed time using calendar or clock, including a.m. and p.m. 
Telling Time http://www.teachrkids.com/fronts/time.htm
Time Activities (choose an activity from the correct section) http://sln.fi.edu/time/Journey/JustInTime/contents.html
Clock Race
http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/activities/clock2/
Time Clock http://www.primarygames.com/math/timeclock/start.htm

*Identify and distinguish between parallel and intersecting lines and right angles. 
Online Geoboards http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_172_g_2_t_3.html
Click on the Activities button to try some activities using your interactive Geoboard.

*Identify and describe pentagons, hexagons, octagons, trapezoids and rhombi. 
Shape Sorter Tool http://illuminations.nctm.org/tools/shapesorter/shapesorter.asp
Investigating the Concept of Triangle and Properties of Polygons: Creating Polygons http://standards.nctm.org/document/eexamples/chap4/4.2/part2.htm
Geometry of the Ancients http://www.learningwave.com/engage/geometry/geometry.html
Perimeter and Areas of Polygons http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/toc_vol1.html

*Determine and properly label the length, width, area and perimeter of a given rectangle. 
Area of a Rectangle http://www.aaamath.com/B/geo78_x3.htm
Shape Surveyor http://www.funbrain.com/poly/

*Identify and draw lines of symmetry on a figure. 
Line Symmetry
http://www.adrianbruce.com/Symmetry/ 

*Read and interpret data displayed on pictograph, bar, line or circle graphs; charts and tables. 
Tables and Graphs http://www.mcwdn.org/Graphs/TabGraphMain.html
Create A Graph
http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/graphing/


Manipulatives
Pattern Blocks http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_169_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities
Tangrams http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_112_g_2_t_1.html?open=activities
Pentominos http://matti.usu.edu/nlvm/nav/frames_asid_114_g_1_t_2.html?open=activities
Mastermind http://thinks.com/java/mastermind/mastermind.htm

Math "Games”
Cool Math http://www.coolmath.com/home.htm
Simon Says http://www.mathsnet.net/cruncher/simon.html
Metropolis: Game of Percent, Decimals and Fractions http://tower23.com/metro/index.htm
Cyberchase http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/games.html
Interactive Games http://www.oswego.org/staff/cchamber/techno/games.htm
Magnetic Numbers http://home.freeuk.net/elloughton13/scramble1.htm  


Museums

American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org 
The Field Museum http://www.fieldmuseum.org
Boston Museum of Science http://www.mos.org/
Exploratorium http://www.exploratorium.edu

Articulation http://www.brigantine.atlnet.org/GigapaletteGALLERY/websites/ARTiculationFinal/MainPages/index.htm Art Attacks http://www.hitentertainment.com/artattack/index_noflash.html

Fun Sites

Prongo http://www.prongo.com/games/index.html
How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com
Protozone  http://www.protozone.net/AJinteractives1.html
SuperThinkers  http://superpages.com/enlightenme/superthinkers/pages/index.html
Digital Films http://digitalfilms.com/
Cliposcope http://nfbkids.ca/ultrabug/web_en/ 
City Creator http://www.citycreator.com/

Brain Pop videos http://www.brainpop.com

Brainquest http://brainquest.com/
Yuckiest Site on the Internet http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/
 


FastCounter by bCentral

To add or remove sites from "Curriculum Links" e-mail nbosch@aol.com
Do you have any questions? Comments?
E-mail Nancy Bosch
nbosch@aol.com, web editor
Last update 09/19/08 01:35 PM
Copyright 1997-2008 Nancy Bosch

yellowmonte.gif (3568 bytes)
Also Visit
The Broken Arrow Enhanced Learning Center
http://connections.smsd.org/el
A Different Place
http://www.adifferentplace.org